stillmemo.blogg.se

Magic bullet looks black screen
Magic bullet looks black screen







Art isn’t that kind of cure, that kind of instant elevator.

magic bullet looks black screen

Looking away from my computer, I temper my inquisition, relax my eyes.

magic bullet looks black screen

Do I feel something more essential in my response to the art than I do a photograph of the bird? Something more meaningful from a painting of a rhino rather than of Fausta walking through Tanzanian grass? Something reparative? The portrait seems to say something beyond ‘eagle,’ so I test my heart on that difference. Here, in what some call “Andy’s Ark,” Warhol electrifies the bird. Prior to laying eyes on the portrait, viewers would know what a bald eagle looks like, even if most of us, isolated from spacious nature, have only seen the majestic creature on our screens, in videos narrated by David Attenborough-in electronic simulations of the actual. In the Bald Eagle, depicted as what Warhol called an animal in makeup, I see his signature elevation of the everyday. He’s printed in blues against a melon background, his eyes beady, his creases and folds traced in bright tangerine. Warhol’s black rhino struggles to stand in his portrait, as if injured or ancient.

#Magic bullet looks black screen skin#

In another, a Grévy’s zebra throws a side-glance, her skin tiger-striped in orange and yellow. They’re beautiful, colorful in his pop art way, the African elephant printed in purple, outlined in sketchy lime and cobalt. On another tab, I scroll through the silk screens of Andy Warhol’s Endangered Species series. On my laptop, I watch YouTube footage of Fausta, the world’s oldest black rhino, walking by herself along the fence of her sanctuary, just weeks before she passed away last Christmas. I asked my dog if he wanted to go for a walk, but it was hardly a conversation.

magic bullet looks black screen

I stare at the rain pouring down from the clogged gutters outside my window, realizing I have yet to talk to another human today.







Magic bullet looks black screen